First Snow

Today I woke up to my own little mini winter wonderland. I love the feeling of waking up, being all warm and cozy in my bed, then looking outside and seeing little flecks of white floating down from the sky and casting a white blanket over the earth. Covering each roof top, each tree, each branch, each side walk. Then going outside and just letting the little snow flakes fall on my face, and get tangled up in my eye lashes. I have to admit that my favorite part about all of it is the sense of calm and quiet that comes over the world when snow falls from the sky. I can’t fully explain it, but the world seems so much more peaceful when its covered in snow. As I drive down the street I see little kids running around, throwing snow balls at each other, sledding down the sidewalk, rolling the body of a snowman into life. I see parents looking on at their children who are just enjoying being children. I see people shuffling out of their warm homes to take a shovel to the driveway in order to clear away enough snow to allow them to drive. I see Christmas tree lots start to open. I see Christmas lights start to show up on every other house in the neighborhood. I see people clutching their morning coffee as if it is their main source of warmth. I see people carefully walking on the icy sidewalks, trying to avoid the humiliation of the inevitable fall that will come upon all of us at some point. I see people shivering, but also smiling. Because snow means Christmas, and Christmas means everything good. I absolutely love Christmas time, and living in a place where I can experience Christmas along with a winter wonderland… Well, it just doesn’t get any better than that.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

P.S. Please excuse the low image quality. I was only able to grab an iPhone picture for todays photo. I’ll do better next time, I promise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

