Anders

Today I got to hang out with one of my best friends. Its actually kind of funny how he and I came to know each other. I volunteered at Tshimakain Creek Camp as a councilor the summer before last, and he was the intern assigned to my cabin. Toward the end of the week he and I had a conversation walking back from challenge course about how much he loved his job at camp and how it was completely life changing. I remember telling him, “It has always been a dream of mine to work at a camp like this. Maybe someday”. And then Anders turned to me and said “You should work here next summer!” And in my heart I knew I wanted to, but I was also doubtful that I would be able to. After that week, Anders and I kept in contact through Facebook messaging all throughout the year, and we came to be pretty good friends, and then toward February Anders messaged me telling me to apply to work at camp, even if I didn’t think I would be able to go. So, I set up an interview, went to a second interview after that, and before I knew it, I had a job at camp working as a challenge course facilitator and photographer. That summer at camp, with Anders and everyone else, was the most incredible summer of my entire life. It changed my life in a way that is unexplainable. And I don’t think I would have had that if Anders hadn’t encouraged me and nagged me until I decided to set up an interview 🙂 Some of my best memories at camp ended up being with Anders. We could sit and talk about everything under the sun for hours on end and not even realize that the day was already gone. We also bring out the weirdness in each other till it gets to the point where I don’t think anyone wants to be around us, haha. But in all seriousness, Anders became one of my best friends and my brother this past summer. The memories are unforgettable, and I will take them with me for the rest of my life. Anders is a rare person. Anders is a fighter. He fights for life and love and what is right. He also knows how to make an entire room of people happy and laughing until they cry. He is kind, caring, generous with his love, wise, compassionate, and he still has the brightest smile despite everything that he has been through. Oh, and he gives the greatest hugs ever. You can ask anyone who was on staff with us, haha. Anders, you’re like a brother to me and I love you. Don’t ever lose who you are. Here’s to many more memories to come!

{Day 16}

Photo Challenge (16)-1

Leave a Reply

