Thankful

Another Thanksgiving day has come and gone–another day that I will never forget. My heart is so full right now. Filled to the brim with love, thankfulness, contentedness, God’s grace, God’s mercy, God’s faithfulness, and God’s incredible love. Every year it is tradition for my family to go around the table and talk about what we are most thankful for that year. As it came to be my turn to talk, I realized that there’s no way I could name just one thing, because I have blessings that I cannot count. It was a surreal moment. I stared down at my hands and realized how ungrateful I have been. I have not recognized all of the beautiful things that surround me on a daily basis. I have been blinded by the difficult, the hard, the trying… I have been blinded by the pain. I decided in that moment that I am the luckiest girl in the entire world, not because I have all the worldly possessions I have always wanted, not because I am famous, cool, or rich. But because I have love– the ultimate gift. I have love in every corner of my life, in every aspect, every moment, every area. I am saturated in an unprecedented love. I am loved by my incredible family. They have loved me in my darkest moments, and believed in my brightest moments. They have never given up on me, even when I have given up on myself. They have still loved me, even when I have failed at loving them. They are my heart and soul. I wouldn’t want to face one day without them. I have friends who love me. The best of friends. Friends who have seen me through, who have reminded me every day of His grace, who have taught me joy, laughter and love. Friends who have given me moments in time that I will hold deep inside my heart all the days of my life. But most importantly, I have a Savior who loves me. I have Jesus Christ–my Father and Best Friend. He is my stronghold, my life-line, my heart, my soul.. My very breath. He saved me from myself, He gave me life, purpose, meaning and HOPE. He envelopes me every morning in His mercy, His grace, His love, His comfort and His healing. He made me new. He gave me a new heart. A new life. It is because of Him that I am alive today. He saved me from the person that I used to be–dark, depressed, not wanting to live. And He made me into a person filled with joy, hope, and a hunger for life that I never knew existed until I began to understand the depths of Him. I will never have enough words to thank My Lord for all that He is in my life.

I took this photograph tonight while my family sat in our living room, hymnals in our hands, praising Jesus at the top of our voices. These are my mothers hands. My mother has always had an unwavering faith in Jesus Christ, and she has never failed to give me this humble example of faithfulness everyday. Watching her hold that hymnal so fondly and lift her face to Jesus in humble adoration… Well I think I got a little glimpse of what heaven is going to be like. Surrounded by my family, my friends, my fellow broken sinners, my fellow Jesus lovers, my fellow grace filled souls, all praising the name of Jesus… with every breath of praise even stronger than the last.

Tonight I am overwhelmed with thankfulness for everything that I have. But most importantly, I am thankful for love.

{Day 17}

Photo Challenge (17)-1

Leave a Reply

