These Are The Moments

Moments.
They are only a glimpse..
A second..
A breath..
But they are the vital parts of what makes all of this life around us feel…alive.
If I remember correctly, it has always been the smallest moments throughout my life that have made the biggest impact. It has been the minuscule moments, the ones that terrified me, the ones that felt like an eternity, the ones that passed by almost unnoticed, the ones that have taken my breath away, the ones where my joy couldn’t be contained, the ones where the pain seemed to be almost too much to bare, that have changed my life. Big or small, they have the ability to completely turn our world upside down. One of the biggest moments in my life was when I was 6 years old and my brand new baby brother went into heart failure when he was only 6 days old, and before I knew it.. I stood in complete shock as I watched dozens of paramedics and firemen swarm my house as they began trying to breathe life back into my little brother, trying to understand why this baby boy was suddenly dying, trying to tell me and my sisters that everything was going to be okay, even when it felt like those words were a lie. One second, I was a little girl playing outside without a care in the world, and the next, the world around me wasn’t such a simple place anymore. It was in that moment that I felt real pain and confusion for the first time. Honestly, I think it was in that moment that I grew up. Its moments like those that make or break a person. Thankfully, after a lot of years of being broken by it, Jesus used that moment from all those years ago to make me the person I am today, and I will forever be grateful for that.

We have all experienced moments that have changed us. Whether it is moments of laughter with the ones we love most, moments of sadness that teach us compassion, moments of peace in the midst of chaos, moments of clarity, moments of confusion, moments of love, moments of romance, moments of strength, moments of weakness…. No matter what it is, moments are a precious gift from God. It would be a shame to let any of the beautiful moments of life pass you by. They may be exactly what you’re looking for.

{Day 19} This is a candid shot I got of my little sister hugging my older sister, laughing about a joke she had just told her. These are the moments that I adore.

Photo Challenge (19)-1

Leave a Reply

