Sunshine

The sun decided to make an appearance today. I think God knew that I needed some sunshine, especially recently. And He sweetly gave me the perfect dose. 🙂 There is something I’ve learned from living in Spokane for the past two years. After a while, the gloomy weather starts to have its effect, and my heart starts to strike a resemblance with the sky. Growing up as a California Girl in the Golden State, I was spoiled with sunshine. Almost every day was a sunny day, and the rainy days were a treat. Now, ironically, it is the opposite. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I have grown to love the gloomy, foggy, melancholy feel of Spokane, but in my heart of hearts, I deeply crave some of that old sunshine I used to take for granted. Honestly, I am one of those people who gets extremely down and out of it if I have gone weeks without a sunny day. I’ve tried to improve this part of me, but I just can’t seem to shake my childlike love for sunshine and butterflies and spring flowers and happy blue skies with puffy white clouds. I am the happiest on those days. I know, my mood shouldn’t be dictated by the weather, something that is so completely out of my control, but I just can’t help myself. I love sunshine and I always will. It reminds me of home and it helps me to see the light at the end of the tunnel, especially when life is stressful and confusing and hard, much like it is right now. To say the least, today was a good day. Even though it was only about 30 degrees (or less) outside, I still embraced every opportunity to go outside and skip around and enjoy God’s little present for me.

Dear Sunshine, I will miss you. Until next time.

Sincerely, Unashamed Sunshine Addict.

{Day 20}

Photo Challenge (20)-1

Leave a Reply

