Its A Wonder

“But how the different parts of me sometimes disagree, its a wonder this body doesn’t shatter.”- Josh Riebock

Lately I have been pondering the struggle of man– the constant fight between our flesh and our spirit. This is something that each person struggles with on a daily basis, whether we notice it or not. We want to do whats right, we want to say the right thing, wear the right clothes. We want to be “the better person”, to “fight the good fight”. This is truly want we want, in our heart of hearts. But so often, our flesh wins the battle. Our need for recognition, popularity, and satisfaction talks our hearts into going down the more tempting path. We justify it, to make ourselves feel better. We tells ourselves its okay… that everyone does this. But we know the truth deep down. We know the difference between right and wrong. We are all in a constant battle against our tempting desires and the desires that God has for us. I am the most guilty of this. Sometimes its so hard for me to deny myself and say yes to God. And if I am being honest, sometimes I don’t even do it. I’ll be the first to admit that I am a broken, filthy, sinner who fails more often than not. But when I decided to follow Jesus, when I vowed to honor Him with my life, when I opened my heart to never be closed again, I also promised to die to myself every morning and to walk in His grace with every breath I take… And even though it seems to be a fruitless battle at times, even when my flesh is a vicious monster, even when giving up on those promises seems to be the easiest way to go, I must keep on going. Because it is NOT a fruitless journey. The journey to Christ’s heart is the most beautiful journey a person can walk. Its an honor to even be able to open His word and breathe His name in personal prayer. What a gift we have been given. So yes, the flesh may be strong and the temptation may be there every second of every day, but the Spirit is stronger, and His grace is there to fill my cup every second of every day, when I stumble and have moments of weakness. And I can rest in the great comfort that I am not in this battle alone. I have Christ within me. I can keep going.

“The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”-Matthew 26:41

{Day 22} This is a compilation of two photos that I did today. I was working in photoshop and decided to do something a little different. I think it perfectly represents the deep struggle we all feel on a daily basis. I hope you like it!:)

Photo_Challenge (22)-1

Leave a Reply

