Winter In Washington

So far this is my third winter spent in Spokane Washington, and it has definitely been an adventure to say the least. One of my favorite parts is waking up to a snow covered world outside. It becomes bittersweet though when I start walking through campus, slow as a turtle, slipping every few seconds, and trying so hard to hold my composure when I see others, less fortunate than I, as the ice gets the best of them and they take the embarrassing fall. I walk by, ask if they are okay, and watch as they shuffle away to class, covered in snow and ice, blushing with embarrassment. I feel terrible for them, but at the same time it is so hard to suppress my laughter. I know it sounds horrible, but this is one of the things I have come to love about living in the Pacific Northwest. Its just another thing that reminds me that I live in a beautiful and unique part of the world. I am so lucky to get to experience so many different seasons. I have lived here for two years and am yet to let the ice get the best of me and succumb to the humiliation of a fall, but I know it is coming, and when it does I’ll probably just laugh so hard at myself that nobody else will feel the need, haha. I took this picture when I finally got to my freezing cold car after a long day at school. Theres something quite invigorating about running through a slippery parking lot and getting into a car that feels like a massive ice cube only to find solid ice on your windshield. Gotta love it 🙂

{Day 15}

Photo_Challenge (25)-1

Leave a Reply

