My Best Friend

Today my best friend turned 19 years old. My how time flies. It feels like just yesterday that we were little girls, running around and exploring the world with wonder, talking about how magical it will be once we are finally adults. And then in the blink of an eye, here we both are. Both 19 years old and trying to figure out how to make sense of this thing called life. But at least we are figuring it out together. I met Kelsey when we were 8 years old. You know how people believe in love at first sight? Well I believe in best-friendship at first sight, haha. The second I met Kelsey, I knew she was supposed to be my best friend. I automatically felt like I had found my forever friend, my always buddy. Well I was right. Kelsey and I have had the best of adventures throughout the years. We have laughed harder than anybody ever should, we have made fools of ourselves, we have learned life’s difficult lessons, we have laid beneath the stars and dreamed about life, we have woken up at 4am to eat donuts and snuggle up in blankets to watch the sunrise, we have danced together in the middle of a busy store, we have eaten our own body weight in junk food, we have fought, we have hugged, we have cried, but most importantly, we have lived. My most treasured memories in life have been with her. After all, that is what best friends are for right? Kelsey, you have been there for me in every single aspect of my life. Every moment. Every heart break. Every memory. Every time I have felt as if I have reached the end of my rope, you have always been there to remind me to keep going. You have always been my shoulder to cry on (literally, I wonder how many of your sweatshirts I have ruined with my mascara filled tears). You have always been my greatest source of laughter. You have always reminded me of the beautiful, happy parts of life. You have never failed to love me even when I have failed in loving you. You show me everyday what it looks like to love like Jesus. You have showed me endless patience and you have always believed in me. You are the light of my life. You understand me better than anyone else, and I have never once doubted that at the end of everything, your love will still be there. You are love, you are joy, you are selflessness, you are grace, you are my best friend. You carry a certain brightness with you wherever you go, and everyone you encounter experiences it too. How lucky I am to do life with such a rare and uniquely beautiful soul 🙂 Thank you for loving me through everything, and for showing me love in every way possible. Thank you for being my partner in crime, my buddy, my better half, my confidante and my biggest supporter. You will never understand how much love I have in my heart for you. I can’t wait until we are both old, married women with little kids who become best friends too. Thanks for being you. Happy birthday, my love. 🙂

{Day 26}

Photo_Challenge (26)-1

Leave a Reply

