Music

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.”

Last night I had the privilege of photographing an event that my church puts on every year. This year, we hired a group of teenagers from a local high school to come and play their classical music instruments for us. These weren’t regular kids though. They were called the “Strolling Strings”, because instead of just standing on a stage and serenading us, they went throughout the room, dancing, strolling, skipping, weaving themselves between our tables, all the while skillfully playing their instrument of choice. Some had violins, some had cellos, some had bass. Not only was the music breathtaking, but their performance was too. They put life into the music. Songs that I had heard a thousand times before became new to me. It was amazing! I think my favorite part was watching how connected they were with the music that they created, and how it lit up their faces, even though they have probably played that same tune a million times. They enjoyed what they were doing. They were one with the music. They glided together as one, almost like a flight of birds. And even when they were all the way across the room from each other and each was doing a different dance step, they still managed to keep their music perfectly aligned and on tune. It was incredible. Truly an honor to watch AND photograph.

When I photograph events I always take the photos that I need. The practical ones. But then I always sneak in a couple of artistic ones for my own pleasure so I slowed down my shutter speed a bit and got this one really quick last night. I wanted to get something that represented them as a group. How they were not stagnant in their art, but they were full of life along with their music. I hope you guys like it. 🙂

{Day 29}

Photo_Challenge (28)-1

Leave a Reply

