Snowflakes and Humans

When I was a little girl, I remember my older sister Lora telling me a little story about snowflakes that just completely blew my mind. She told me “Clare, did you know that not one snowflake is the same as another? Each one is completely different from the other, and yet there are billions upon billions of them that fall. To me, its kind of like humans. There are billions upon billions of us, yet not one is the same. We are all different in our own way. We each have a different story that God is writing for us, we each have a different life that God is crafting for us. We may look alike, just like snowflakes do, but look closely enough and you will see that each person is different in their own beautiful way”. I’m pretty sure she was about 17 when she told me this little story, and I remember what an impression it made on my little 7 year old heart. It was one of those moments in time when you just can’t deny that God exists. Though it feels like it was a thousand years ago, I remember it like it was just yesterday. This story replays in my mind, without fail, every single time I see any form of snow. I remember looking up at my big sister in that moment, who was so wise and so beautiful, and thinking to myself “Wow, I wanna be just like her someday”. That day has had a ripple effect throughout the years of my life and has helped shaped my view of this world we live in and the people who live in it. Sure, each person is the same in how we are all lost and unsatisfied, broken and sinful people, who have a deep need for the saving grace of the Cross. In that way, there is no denying that each person is the same. But in other ways, each person is unique, each person has a different demeanor, a different view, a different way of life, a different way of showing love, a different need for adventure, a different dream that beats inside of them, a different knowledge of what it means to “love your neighbor as yourself”. We are all the same. Yet we are all so different. Just like the snowflakes are the same at first glance, yet they are all so different. Its kinda funny, huh? The ironies of life make me laugh sometimes.

{Day 47}

Photo_Challenge (47)-1

Leave a Reply

