My Joey

I call him my little miracle.

Often times, words are my closest companions. I can sit down and write for hours. I can often find words for everything–every mood, every feeling. But when it comes to trying to find the right words to explain the amount of love I have for this little man, words fail me.

There aren’t enough words in this world to explain his strength. His capacity for joy. His spot on sense of humor. His brotherly love.

There aren’t enough words in the world to explain how he came into this world thirteen years ago and completely changed my life. My world was flipped upside down. Everything I once knew about the simplicities of life was completely shattered. Because there I was, a little girl, who had just become a big sister, without a care in the world. I was so looking forward to getting to hold him every day and then watch him become a boy, and then a man. I was so excited to teach him how to play a sport, or how to mow the lawn. And then the next second, my brand new baby brother wasn’t breathing anymore. He was being surrounded by big, tall paramedics and I was being comforted by firefighters. I didn’t understand how life could go from being so magical, to so cruel in just one short breath.

But we don’t need to focus on that part of the story. We can focus on the part where he looked death in the face and decided that he was going to live a long and beautiful life instead. We can focus on the part of the story where he completely defeated the odds, when he had only been on earth for barely a week. We can focus on the part where he came home to us. He was covered in tubes, he was tiny and barely holding on, but he was alive and he was fighting. A lot of people ask me why I believe in God, why I believe in miracles, why I believe in love and laughter and light. Often times, only one word comes to mind: Joey.

Today he turns 13 years old. He is officially a teenager. My childhood wish came true. I am his big sister, I got to hold him every day, I watched him turn from a baby to a boy, and now I get to watch him turn from a boy to a man. I taught him to play catch, and maybe someday I will be able to teach him how to mow the lawn. But for right now, I am content in knowing that I have had the immense pleasure of being his big sister every day for the past 13 years. I am content in knowing that his heart beats stronger every day. I am content in having tickle fights with him and hearing his adorable belly laugh. I am content in knowing that every day when I come home, he will be waiting at the door to give me a hug.

He is a fighter. He is a miracle.
He has made me smile or laugh every single day for the past 13 years, even on days when happiness seemed impossible to attain.

He has already touched so many lives. He changed ours. I can’t wait to see how many more hearts are changed by his sweet spirit and his miraculous story. I can’t wait to see the places he will go and the things he will see. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for this little life that he rescued all those years ago.

Like I said, when it comes to this little man, words fail me. But I can do my best to scratch the surface of this unprecedented little boy to give you all an idea of the sweet love that I get to embrace every day.

Happy birthday, Joey. You are my greatest joy. Let’s make 13 the best year yet. Let’s go on adventures and laugh and laugh and laugh. I love you more than words could ever say. Never, ever change for anyone in this world. They might not understand you, but I think anyone can see that you are no ordinary boy. You are a miracle.

{Day 75}

Photo_Challenge (75)3

One thought on “My Joey

  1. Beautifully written and deeply moving, thank you. My Christmas vacation with my family in Texas is ending and I will miss not being around them and especially my grandson who is autistic. He finds happiness in almost everything we do together and I will indeed miss his wonderful smile and he words, ‘grandp0p your turn’.

Leave a Reply

