A Universal Love

Hey everyone, I apologize for my absence lately. I know there are no excuses, but goodness gracious.. I have been busy non stop. I barely have time to sit down for ten minutes at a time, let alone sit down and blog. But I have missed it desperately and will be writing as much as I possibly can in the coming weeks.

I have come to realize something about myself. I listen to music about 75% of the day, if not more. I constantly have my earbuds connected to my phone with my music on a constant loop. In between classes, when I’m running, cleaning, doing homework, falling asleep, walking from place to place, blogging, getting ready to go somewhere, I have music playing. So basically, it is constant. I don’t know if this is a bad habit, or if its something I need to cut back on, but music has somehow become my place to go when nothing else makes sense. It puts my mind at ease. Brings calm to the monotony of life.

I was talking with a friend the other day and he made a comment that really struck me. He said, “I don’t think I have ever met a person who is indifferent to music. Music reaches everyone in some way. It is a universal love. And if you think about it, most of it is just someone talking in a pretty way, with beats and tunes to go with it, but it has the ability to reach peoples hearts like nothing else does.” Its so true, isn’t it? Somehow its easier to survive the pains of life when someone sings them to us in words that we understand, in the quiet of our room, when all the other sounds of the world just hurt us. The angry yelling, the ugly words of society, the harsh words of our inner self judge. They all disappear momentarily when music breaks the sound and brings our soul a certain kind of silence.

All my life I have been involved in making music of some kind. I’ve played quite a few instruments, had professional voice lessons for multiple years, I sang in choir for most of my life, I was in several musicals, I was in a bell choir, I have played guitar since I was big enough to hold one, and I have lead worship in several different settings since I was fifteen. And though I love making music with all my heart, I connect with it the best when I am the listener. The observer. It is when I am in the audience at a concert and I stop to listen to every beat, every strum, every harmony, every tune, every swell, every note… that I become completely enchanted by the mystery of music and its ability to carry millions of hearts in rhythmic harmony without even trying.

Maybe thats why I am addicted to having melodies and poetic words being sung to me almost 24/7.

So often my head is filled with a thousand words and sounds all at once. I guess I am enchanted by music because it breaks the sound and brings silence to my soul, when silence is so hard to find.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

