Her Name Is Grace

Everyone, meet my sweet friend Gracie.

She was my very first friend in Washington. I met her the night that my sister Rachael and I went bowling with the youth group for the first time. Skittish, scared, lonely, and in search of companionship, Rachael and I went over to introduce ourselves to Gracie (who was one of the last at the church), and such sweet companionship we found. Immediately we began bonding over being homeschooled in a big family, and other things of that sort. Then her brother came to pick her up, and we found a fast friend in him as well. They were both so kind and welcoming to us newbies… I’ll never forget it.

Gracie is one of those people with so much compassion and kindness, that it spurs you on to always try to see the best in people the way that she does. Her name is Grace, and she wears it so well. So often I have seen her show kindness and grace to those around her, even if she has been hurt by them, and it has inspired me in so many ways. Its people like her who will make the difference in this world. In every scenario, she thinks of herself last. And she always, always has a kind thing to say. She encourages me so well.

Gracie, thank you for being such a good friend to me. Even if we only see each other every 2,000 years (thats what it feels like, at least), we can always pick up right where we left off and talk for hours on end. You have been there for me in some of my darkest days, and I couldn’t thank you for that more.

Keep being the incredible, kind, strong, and encouraging woman of God that you are. Never ever let anybody take that light away from you. You were made to love Him. And you love Him so well.

I love you so much.

Now, lets go die widows together. (Sorry for the morbidity, everyone. Inside joke.)

You’re spectacular, and so beautiful.

{Day 150}

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Here’s an oldie, just for posterity.

2013-07-04 16.07.34

Leave a Reply

