Tangible Glimpses

{Day 189}

It was for these moments alone that I became a photographer.

mom and joey-1 copy

In life, it is so easy to become obsessed with wanting to get everything right. As a photographer, I become extremely frustrated with myself if anything in a photo of mine is not technically correct. But this is a hurdle I need to get over, because some of the most beautiful photos ever created are the ones that aren’t perfect.

I was in the backyard with my mom and little brother, just taking pictures of flowers, when I turned around and saw this moment, and quickly snapped a pic.

I think it will forever be one of my favorite photos.

It’s not technically perfect; it won’t win awards.

But I don’t care about that. It’s perfect in my heart, because it holds the faces of my loved ones, being so incredibly happy in each others presence. It holds laughter, joy, and a tangible glimpse into what heaven will be like. Life holds so many of those glimpses.

So don’t close your eyes, don’t let your need for perfection cloud your vision for the perfectly imperfect moments that remind us that life is so worth living.

Don’t even blink–you might miss it.

Leave a Reply

