You Know Me

{Day 196}

Clare

“You have been
And You will be
You have seen
And You will see

You know when I rise and when I fall.
When I come or go, You see it all.
You hung the stars and You move the sea,
And still You know me.

And nothing is hidden from Your sight
Wherever I go, You find me
And You know every detail of my life
And You are God, and You don’t miss a thing.

You memorize me.”

I’ll be honest. So often, I try to hide myself from God. I pretend that He can’t see the things I am ashamed of. I try to sweep my past under the rug. I run from the only thing that will free me from the things that drag me down.

I’m hilarious.

But there are times, precious moments, when I sit before God and I let Him see every single detail. As painful as it may be, I lay it all out there. The good, the bad and the ugly. I tell Him all my secrets, I cry over the pains that I hold inside, I tell Him about the things that shame me, I tell Him how scared I am of the future.

I tell Him about all the things that terrify me.

And then I sit there and I’m like “Wait a second… Here I was this whole time, thinking that I had the upper hand, thinking that I actually had the power to hide something from God… thinking He didn’t see my pain…”

Then some laughter comes through the tears and I tell Him how much I love Him. He saw it all before I even told Him about it, and He still loved me.

What grace.

What unfathomable, beautiful grace.

Those are the moments with God that remind me of this verse:Ā “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.ā€- John 16:33

He already knows me. He’s got me all figured out. I’ll be fine. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

